The Caldecott Medal

Cover of Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear--2016 Caldecott Medal winner

This has been awarded annually by the American Library Association since 1938 "to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." Like the Newbery, there is one medal winner and usually a number of honor books. Also known loosely as the Caldecott award, winners are likely to stay in print indefinitely due to the Caldecott's prestige.

The links in the book titles take you to Amazon; if you prefer you can search for information on IndieBound, the website of the independent booksellers. Scroll down past the book lists for links for more information and some interesting opinion pieces.

Caldecott Medal winners:

Caldecott Honor books:

More information:

Children's Book Awards Index page

Newbery Medal | Coretta Scott King Award | Lifetime Achievement Awards | Young Adult Awards
NBA Young People's Award | Sibert Informational Book Award | Pura Belpré Award | Scott O'Dell Award

The Purple Crayon home page